Temples and their near permanent residents

Posted on

I visited a temple recently and as always was awestruck by the gopuram (tower) , the colours, the statues, the paintings and the symmetry.

The temple tower

When I focussed on this serene statue of a saint… I noticed a flurry of activity in the background (See if you can spot him here)

Statue of a serene saint

And close by were the residents of the Gopuram, eating, playing and feeding their little ones…

Monkey biz – one with a banana, one hanging upside down, and the other just plain bored!

As I continued to focus on them  – they started getting restless with my intrusion into their privacy… So they gnarled at me, scowled and finally moved out.

God, This girl keeps following me around – call me when she has left.. Leaving now
8 thoughts on “Temples and their near permanent residents

    2me4art said:
    May 20, 2012 at 7:42 am

    Those Temples are stunning! Great shots

    grosenberg said:
    May 20, 2012 at 8:48 am

    Wow, truly awe-inspiring

      Mathangi Jeypal responded:
      May 20, 2012 at 12:31 pm

      Thank you – this is a relatively new construction. The older temples are even better 🙂 !

    golappan said:
    May 20, 2012 at 11:52 am

    Endha ooru kovil idhu ??

    Sukanya Ramanujan said:
    May 21, 2012 at 7:26 am

    I was saying nice post but the colours are a bit bright- was that intended?

    sajanrajagopal said:
    February 28, 2013 at 11:27 am

    Very nice Mathangi. Truly appreciate the narration along with the shots. got me more involved!

Leave a Reply

