Expressions – I

Posted on Updated on

When people have no idea they are being photographed – their expressions are so genuine and reflective of their thoughts. The idea is obviously not to stalk people here – but capture those with interesting expressions.

In my first post I’ve tried to catch expressions of only children and give it my interpretations. Most of these pictures were taken at the beach save one or two.

Happiness and excitement

This little boy was all speed when I spotted him. His excitement was palpable and he was all focus as he raced towards his father who was holding a balloon. 

Fear and curiosity

It took me awhile to get this girl to look into my camera. She was a bit scared, that I was signalling to get her to look at me – so I could get a picture of her. But her childlike curiosity did drive her to look at the crazy girl with the camera I guess! 

Ignorance is bliss

This picture is one of my favorites, as it shows the yearning desire of her mom to provide everything for her child. She has access to many a toy, but not one belonging to her child. The child blissfully ignorant of the mother’s thoughts – seems to enjoy discovering one plaything at a time! 

Fear and excitement

This boy is full of concentration as he holds on to the reins of the horse. He is equally excited and maybe a little afraid of the unknown. My guess is he will be a more confident little boy, once the ride is over. 

Trust and faith

As I clicked this picture the responsibility of the big brother was quite evident as he was taking his role as protector rather seriously. And the little girl was gingerly treading into the water secure that her brother would take care of her when the waves came towards her. Trust and Faith. 

Observation

This really small kid was sitting by herself at a bench at the bus stop  – not worried that her parents were nowhere around. She was immersed in observing the happenings of some passengers before they boarded the bus. By the time she realized that her parents were not there – they came back to find her. 

Well, this brings me to the end of my first post under expressions. I hope to find more interesting people with wonderful expressions to record. They have no idea how special they are, when their mask is lowered!

8 thoughts on “Expressions – I

    grosenberg said:
    March 26, 2012 at 11:03 pm

    Looking forward to many more of these. I just returned from a trip to the UK. What an amazing place for people watching! I snapped many many pictures of people to capture pose, expression etc to use in my art. Thank you for sharing yours.

      Mathangi Jeypal responded:
      March 26, 2012 at 11:30 pm

      Thanks a lot. Eagerly awaiting your pictures too! 🙂

    ataraxiphile said:
    March 27, 2012 at 12:57 am

    Love the one with the horse, especially the way it’s hooves are kicking up all that sand! And, the last one of the wee girl is great! 🙂 Ooh, and also the DakChi header pic – very desilicious!

    Vimal R Abraham said:
    March 27, 2012 at 10:57 am

    This is good stuff maths….guess you are becoming a master of street photography 😉

      Mathangi Jeypal responded:
      March 27, 2012 at 5:37 pm

      Coming from a pro like you… that’s a compliment! 🙂

    Nirmala said:
    March 29, 2012 at 6:43 pm

    Candid shots are good!

Leave a Reply

