Helianthus annuus – The Sunflower

Posted on Updated on

Flowers  – as immobile as they may seem to be, sometimes seem to me almost expressive as animals or humans. Some flowers look garish, some shy, some seem dominant, but the Sunflower to me – seems so confident, simple to understand and enthusiastic.

They sleep when the sun is setting / or not yet risen – looking a bit dull and drab (almost like what the cat dragged in) before seeing the sun. Then slowly and almost coyly, they get dressed up in their brightest colours as they wake up and warm up along with the sun – the cheer evident on their faces.And as they keep just loyally following the direction of the sun – I think what a reliable friend the sunflower will make. Bobbing their head in the light breeze and looking absolutely full of joy during peak daytime – it strikes me, there is no way the Sunflower faces the shadow. It always makes sure its life is full of cheer, happiness and positive vibes.

I saw some sunflower fields during a recent trip of mine – and the happiness I felt was almost contagious. As seems to be the trend during my previous trips too – I was forced to take pictures from a moving vehicle. But there was no way I was going to miss taking pictures of these bright yellow beauties.

Just before I realised the presence of the sunflowers
Impatiently fiddling with the camera and trying to click pictures before I passed the wonderful sight...
Looks to me like each one is in serious conversation with its neighbour 🙂
Drawing inspiration from wordsworth and adapting it to my situation a bit " a host of golden daffodils, nay sunflowers"
Ten thousand saw I at a glance,Tossing their heads in a spritely dance - some poetic licence here! 🙂 

"I gazed--and gazed--but little thought
What wealth the show to me had brought"
Poet of wordsworth's calibre - maybe I am not,
But seeing these wonderful flowers - lifted my spirits somewhat!

You can read the classic “Daffodils”  by William Wordsworth here – http://www.poemhunter.com/poem/daffodils/

4 thoughts on “Helianthus annuus – The Sunflower

    ataraxiphile said:
    March 25, 2012 at 6:25 pm

    Whoa! They look magnificent!

    Tony said:
    March 26, 2012 at 10:31 pm

    Wow! Beautiful!!!

      Mathangi Jeypal responded:
      March 26, 2012 at 10:43 pm

      Thank you so much 🙂

        Tony said:
        March 26, 2012 at 10:48 pm

        You are welcome. I’ve never seen anything like that! Amazing! Thank you for sharing that!

Leave a Reply

